The Friends of Berrien County Trails is excited to work with the county and all the cities, villages and townships and trail stakeholders to develop a Trails Master Plan.  We have also put together an extensive list of stakeholders that we will be reaching out to for input.  We will also be asking each city, village and township to participate in the planning process.  Learn how you can get involved in the planning process. 

The Friends have engaged Abonmarche Consultants to lead the process of developing the Trails Master Plan.  


To help guide the development of the planning process, the Friends of Berrien County Trails has enlisted representatives of the following organizations: 


The project steering committee will provide guidance and oversight throughout the planning process and ultimately help decide the direction of the final plan. The committee consists of a mix of municipal, county, state, business, education and trail stakeholder group representatives. The following individuals have agreed to participate on the project steering committee: 

Andrews University Andrew von Maur
Be Healthy Berrien Dawn Marie Smith
Berrien County Board of Commissioners Julie Wuerfel
Berrien County Parks & Recreation Department Jill Adams
Berrien County Planning Commission Katie Montoya
Berrien County Road Department Kevin Stack
Bike Michiana Coalition JV Peacock
Chikaming Open Lands Ryan Postema
Chikaming Township David Bunte
City of Benton Harbor Lee Reed
Friends of Berrien County Trails Mike Garey
Friends of Berrien County Trails Gary Wood
Harbor Country Hikers Pat Fisher
IN MI River Valley Trail  Deb Conley
Lake Michigan College Doug Schaffer 
Michigan Department of Natural Resources Jill Sells
Michigan Department of Transportation Brian Sanada
Pachyderm Pedalers  Greg Collins
Southwest Michigan Planning Commission Marcy Hamilton
Spectrum Lakeland TBD
Strategic Leadership Council/Best Practices Committee Michelle Heit
Whirlpool Beat Stocker
YMCA of Southwest Michigan TBD


A special thank you to the following municipalities and organizations that have generously provided funds to support the development of the Trails Master Plan. 

  • Berrien County
  • City of Bridgman
  • City of Buchanan
  • City of Coloma
  • City of New Buffalo
  • City of St. Joseph
  • Bertrand Township
  • Chikaming Township
  • Coloma Charter Township
  • Hagar Township
  • Lake Charter Township
  • Lincoln Township
  • New Buffalo Township
  • Niles Charter Township
  • Oronoko Charter Township
  • Royalton Township
  • St. Joseph Charter Township
  • Three Oaks Township
  • Watervliet Charter Township
  • Village of Berrien Springs  
  • Village of Grand Beach
  • Village of Stevensville
  • Village of Three Oaks
  • Bernadette Janda McKittrick Endowment Fund at the Berrien Community Foundation
  • Spectrum Health Lakeland Foundation
  • The Pokagon Fund
  • Whirlpool